Paris - Museum of the Marine - Presentation

The museum in Paris has closed its doors for renovation.

© National Maritime Museum / A.Fux

 

History and mission

Heir to the historic rooms arsenals, large collections of Paris, Versailles and the Hall of practical work of the school of structural engineers, the National Marine Museum is both a museum of art and history, science and technology, human adventures and Popular traditions, a maritime culture center open to the wider public. It is intended to be the showcase and Heritage Conservatory of all marine.

With the museum of the Fleet in St. Petersburg, he shares the privilege of being one of the oldest maritime museums in the world by the size and diversity of its collections. Recognizing the vital educational role it must play to accommodate future generations, it is considering a completely new presentation of its permanent galleries within a few years

Dissemination and sharing of maritime knowledge

Around its permanent collections, larger models arsenals, tables whose series ports Vernet, Witnesses of objects of maritime activities, and its temporary exhibitions, the National Marine Museum educates the public maritime fact.

With two Libraries in Paris et Rochefort (50 000 items), a documentary collection and a library, it is also a Instead of search.

The museum is in close liaison with universities, with research centers including the CNRS with which a naval archeology department was created in 1983. He is a member of ICOM and also of the International Congress of Maritime Museums ICMM.

The museum's collections

The Department of Conservation has to manage mission, study and enrichment of the Navy National Museum collections.

Learn More

Paris - History Museum

Located between the Louvre and 1748 1938, the museum has been housed in a historic building, the Palais de Chaillot.

Learn More

Library of Paris

Library of Paris is currently closed to the public
Learn More

Paris - Practical Information

The museum is closed for renovation, follow the news of the renovation on the social networks and the site.

 

Learn More

Paris - Musée de la Marine - Présentation

Musée d’art, d’histoire, de sciences, de techniques, d’aventures humaines et de traditions populaires, un centre de culture maritime.

© musée national de la Marine/A.Fux

 

Histoire et vocation

Héritier des salles historiques des arsenaux, des grandes collections de Paris, de Versailles et de la salle des travaux pratiques de l’école des ingénieurs constructeurs, le musée national de la Marine est à la fois musée d’art et d’histoire, de sciences et de techniques, d’aventures humaines et de traditions populaires, un centre de culture maritime ouvert au plus large public. Il a vocation d’être la vitrine et le conservatoire patrimonial de toutes les marines.

Avec le musée de la Flotte de Saint-Pétersbourg, il partage le privilège d’être l’un des deux plus anciens musées maritimes du monde par l’importance et la diversité de ses collections. Conscient du rôle pédagogique essentiel qu’il doit jouer pour accueillir les générations futures, il envisage une présentation totalement renouvelée de ses galeries permanentes d’ici quelques années

Diffusion et partage des connaissances maritimes

Autour de ses collections permanentes, grands modèles d’arsenaux, tableaux dont la série des ports de Vernet, d’objets témoins des activités maritimes, et par ses expositions temporaires, le musée national de la Marine sensibilise le public au fait maritime.

Fort de deux bibliothèques à Paris et à Rochefort (50 000 ouvrages), d’un fonds documentaire et d’une photothèque, il est aussi un lieu de recherche.

Le musée est en liaison étroite avec des universités, avec des centres de recherche dont le CNRS avec lequel un département d’Archéologie navale a été créé en 1983. Il est membre de l’ICOM et aussi de l’International Congress of Maritime Museums ICMM.

Les collections du musée

Le département de la Conservation a pour mission la gestion, l’étude et l’enrichissement des collections du musée national de la Marine.

En savoir plus

Paris - Histoire du musée

Installé au Louvre entre 1748 et 1938, le musée est depuis abrité dans un édifice historique, le Palais de Chaillot.

En savoir plus

Bibliothèque de Paris

Bibliothèque de recherche pour les chercheurs et le grand public, accessible sur réservation
En savoir plus

Paris - Informations pratiques

Ouvert de 10h à 18h, lundi, mercredi, jeudi, vendredi, samedi et dimanche. Fermé le mardi.
 

En savoir plus