Port Louis - Exhibition - Whispering Stones

Exhibition to discover 1er June at 31 December 2018

exhibition au

The citadel source of inspiration

© National Marine Museum / A.grandener © M.Le Pennec

Regards Marion Pennec on the Citadel of Port Louis (Autumn 2017 - 2018 Spring)

Artist invited for six weeks by the National Maritime Museum on the occasion of Port Louis 400 years, Marion Le Pennec has confronted his own sensitivity to the majestic architecture of the citadel.

Captivated by the environment and the landscape brewed by the weather in a harsh and powerful light, his gaze lingered on the high fortified walls, witnesses of four centuries of wars and feats of arms.
Then his attention turned to the contrast between the light of the sea and the rigorous architecture, almost "mathematical" places, the killers or "murders yesterday" symbolizing the passage between these two worlds.
It is the story of men that his pen tells: human shadows hidden in the walls, behind closed doors of waiting, imminent attack, violent deaths ...
Finally, convinced that the artwork contributes to the duty of memory, the artist dwells on the history of 69 resistant young people tortured and shot in 1944 at the foot of the ramparts, drama that resonates with his personal history . These resistants are symbolically represented by the digit 15 (6 + 9 = 15).
Graduated from the Ecole Nationale Superieure des Arts Décoratifs in Paris in 1998, Marion Le Pennec works mainly with Indian ink. This passion for the age-old black ink associated with water is practiced as a song of the moment and nourished by the tradition of the "unique brush stroke" of Asian painting.

12 works were realized during this residence and are to discover in different places of the citadel.

Exhibition to discover 1er June at 31 December 2018

Included in the entrance ticket

Information on 02 97 82 56 72 or by mail at: port-louis@musee-marine.fr

Port Louis - Useful Information

September: daily: 10h-18h. Closed on Tuesdays

More details

Agenda museums

News Marine National Museums.

Port-Louis – Exposition - Murmures de pierres

Exposition à découvrir du 1er juin au 31 décembre 2018

Exposition du au

 

La citadelle source d’inspiration

© Musée National de la Marine / A.grandener ©M.Le Pennec

 

Regards de Marion Le Pennec sur la citadelle de Port-Louis (Automne 2017 - printemps 2018)

Artiste invitée pendant six semaines par le musée national de la Marine à l’occasion des 400 ans de Port-Louis, Marion Le Pennec a confronté sa propre sensibilité à l’architecture majestueuse de la citadelle.

Captivée par l’environnement et le paysage brassés par les intempéries dans une lumière crue et puissante, son regard s’est attardé sur les hauts murs fortifiés, témoins de quatre siècles de guerres et de faits d’armes.
Puis son attention s’est portée sur le contraste entre la lumière de la mer et l’architecture rigoureuse, presque « mathématique » des lieux, les meurtrières ou « meurtres d’hier » symbolisant le passage entre ces deux univers.
C’est l’histoire des hommes que sa plume raconte : ombres humaines cachées dans les murs, huis clos de l’attente, attaque imminente, morts violentes...
Enfin, convaincue que l’œuvre d’art participe au devoir de mémoire, l’artiste s’est attardée sur l’histoire des 69 jeunes résistants torturés puis fusillés en 1944 au pied des remparts, drame qui entre en résonnance avec son histoire personnelle. Ces résistants sont symboliquement représentés par le chiffre 15 (6+9=15).
Diplômée de l’Ecole nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Paris en 1998, Marion Le Pennec travaille essentiellement l’encre de Chine. Cette passion pour l’encre noire séculaire associée à l’eau est pratiquée comme un chant de l’instant et nourrie par la tradition de « l’unique trait de pinceau » propre à la peinture asiatique.

12 œuvres ont été réalisées lors de cette résidence et sont à découvrir dans différents endroits de la citadelle.

Exposition à découvrir du 1er juin au 31 décembre 2018

Inclus dans le billet d’entrée

Renseignements au 02 97 82 56 72 ou par mail à l’adresse : port-louis@musee-marine.fr

 

Port-Louis - Informations pratiques

Mai-août : tous les jours : 10h-18h30.

En savoir plus

Agenda des musées

L'actualité des musées nationaux de la Marine.