Brest - History Museum

Built on a rocky outcrop at the mouth of the river Penfeld, the castle dominates the sea.

© Rights Reserved

an open air museum

Built between the XVIe and XIXe centuries, several barracks were sheltered in the courtyard of the castle. One of them, the barracks Plougastel was classified historical monument in 1923. These buildings destroyed during the war were replaced by the maritime prefecture, due to the architect Guth and completed in 1953. Underground, dug by the Germans during the Second World War, now house the command for the Atlantic (CECLANT) and that of the Strategic Ocean Force (FOS). The castle of Brest thus retains part of its military vocation.

The National Museum of the Navy, found in the walls traces the Navy's history and certifies its close links with the city of Brest. It's sort of heir to the ship models room. 1826 installed in the first floor of the workshop sculptures of the Brest arsenal, collections, evacuated in Morlaix during the Second World War, were transferred 1958 in Paradise castle towers. An extension of the museum in the dungeon is made 1985.
The restoration of the chateau started since 1990 and the successive developments of the Paradis towers, the Dungeon and the Madeleine tower have improved the reception of visitors and the cultural offer that is offered to them: organization of temporary exhibitions, guided tours themed, nocturnal, discovery of undergrounds, workshops for children and schoolchildren, musical entertainment, storytelling evenings ... Finally, the superb panoramas on the harbor, ports of war, trade or pleasure make the castle of Brest a a real open air museum!

Since the site is perfectly monitors the mouth of the harbor and narrows towards the open sea and of course the Penfeld. This particular location gives the site a major strategic position. Over the centuries, the architecture of the castle will be tailored to meet the evolving siege techniques and armaments, to guard against two types of attacks: land and sea. In 17 centuries of history, the castle will never be taken by force.

Everyone can understand how the ancient Gallo-Roman Castellum became a walled city before ducal castle; English occupation during the Hundred Years War; the appointed residence to greet the Duchess Anne; physiognomy during the religious wars; transformations under Vauban to fit the art of defense.

The evolution of the castle of Brest in 3D

Five films 3D (below) depict the architectural evolution of the site to the key moments in the history of Brest. These events, with their share of interpretation, can observe the successive states of the monument.

These sequences were made by Thierry Le Masson of the regional photographic and audiovisual cell based on the work of Jean-Michel Simon and historians Jean-Yves Besselièvre and Alain Boulaire.

Brest - Marine Museum

unique heritage testifying to the great naval adventure Arsenal Brest and the French Navy.

Paris - History Museum

Located between the Louvre and 1748 1938, the museum has been housed in a historic building, the Palais de Chaillot.

Learn more

Port Louis - History of the museum

The Citadel is an imposing building, marked by the events of Breton history of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

Learn more

Rochefort - History Museum

Housed in a mansion of the seventeenth century, the Hotel de Cheusses, named after the last lord of the manor of Rochefort.

Learn more

Rochefort - History of Naval medical school

Founded in 1722, is the first naval school of surgery in the world.

Learn more

Toulon - History Museum

The museum traces the history of Toulon's arsenal, from Louis XIV to become the largest military port in the Mediterranean basin

Learn more

Brest - Histoire du musée

Construit sur un éperon rocheux à l’embouchure de la rivière Penfeld , le château domine la mer.

© Droits réservés

un musée à ciel ouvert

Construites entre les XVIe et XIXe siècles, plusieurs casernes étaient abritées dans la cour du château. L’une d’elles, la caserne Plougastel fut classée monument historique en 1923. Ces bâtiments détruits pendant la guerre furent remplacés par la préfecture maritime, due à l’architecte Guth et achevée en 1953. Des souterrains, creusés par les Allemands durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, abritent de nos jours le commandement pour l’Atlantique (CECLANT) et celui de la Force océanique stratégique (FOS). Le château de Brest conserve ainsi une part de sa vocation militaire.

Le musée national de la Marine, présent dans ces murs retrace l’histoire de la Marine et atteste ses liens étroits avec la ville de Brest. Il est en quelque sorte héritier de la salle de modèles de navires. Installées en 1826 au premier étage de l’atelier de sculptures de l’arsenal de Brest, les collections, évacuées à Morlaix pendant la seconde guerre mondiale, furent transférées en 1958 dans les tours Paradis du château. Une extension du musée dans le donjon est réalisée en 1985.
La restauration du château entreprise depuis 1990 et les aménagements successifs des tours Paradis, du Donjon et de la tour Madeleine ont permis d’améliorer l’accueil des visiteurs  et l’offre culturelle qui leur est proposée : organisation d’expositions temporaires,  visites guidées à thèmes, nocturnes, découverte des souterrains, ateliers pour les enfants et les scolaires, animations musicales, soirées contes...Enfin, les panoramas superbes sur la rade, les ports de guerre, de commerce ou de plaisance font du château de Brest un véritable musée à ciel ouvert !

Depuis le site on surveille parfaitement l’embouchure de la rade et le goulet vers la pleine mer et bien sûr la Penfeld. Cette situation géographique particulière confère au site une position stratégique majeure. Au fil des siècles, l’architecture du château sera adaptée pour répondre à l’évolution des techniques de siège et de l’armement, visant à se prémunir de deux types d’attaques : terrestre et maritime. En 17 siècles d’histoire, le château ne sera jamais pris par la force.

Chacun peut donc comprendre comment l’antique castellum gallo-romain devint une ville fortifiée avant d’être château ducal ; l’occupation anglaise lors de la guerre de Cent Ans ; la résidence aménagée pour accueillir la duchesse Anne; la physionomie lors des guerres de religion ; les transformations sous Vauban pour s’adapter à l’art de la défense.

L'évolution du château de Brest en 3D

Cinq films en 3D (ci-dessous) retracent l’évolution architecturale du site aux moments clés de l’histoire de Brest. Ces animations, avec leur part d’interprétation, permettent d’observer les états successifs du monument.

Ces séquences ont été réalisées par Thierry Le Masson de la cellule photographique et audiovisuelle régionale d’après les travaux de Jean-Michel Simon et des historiens Jean-Yves Besselièvre et Alain Boulaire.

Brest - Musée de la Marine

Patrimoine unique témoignant de la grande aventure navale de l'Arsenal de Brest et de la Marine française.

Paris - Histoire du musée

Installé au Louvre entre 1748 et 1938, le musée est depuis abrité dans un édifice historique, le Palais de Chaillot.

En savoir plus

Port-Louis - Histoire du musée

La citadelle est un édifice imposant, marqué par les événements de l’histoire bretonne des XVIe et XVIIe siècles.

En savoir plus

Rochefort - Histoire du musée

Installé dans un hôtel particulier du XVIIe siècle, l’Hôtel de Cheusses, du nom du dernier seigneur de la châtellenie de Rochefort.

En savoir plus

Rochefort - Histoire de l'école de médecine navale

Fondée en 1722, c’est la première école de chirurgie navale au monde.

En savoir plus

Toulon - Histoire du musée

Le musée tend à expliquer comment Toulon est devenu le plus grand port militaire du bassin  méditerranéen à partir du règne de Lou

En savoir plus